Christmas cookies

Last weekend I made 60 Christmas-shaped cookies for a party. By request of my lovely customer, I did trains (since it was a Polar Express party), trees, Santa hats, and snowmen.

The ones that I was selling were undecorated, but since I made so many extras (about 110 total), I decided to decorate the rest and give them away to friends. Not too shabby for my second attempt at decorating sugar cookies, and my first attempt at Christmas cookies!

1459258_10202736352033274_1945898848_n

I used a recipe I found on The Shiksa. The only change I made was using slightly more vanilla and a bit less almond extract, since I don’t really like the taste of almond too much. They turned out super well!

For the royal icing, I used her recipe as well, then did a simple American buttercreem for the tiny details of decorating since I’m still getting used to working with royal icing.

Finished Cookies

Yes, I realize the bear is random for Christmas cookies. I just like bears and this one turned out looking like a bear so I figured I’d roll with it.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Lifestyle

One response to “Christmas cookies

  1. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Party! | SamLovesBaking